Legal Question in Criminal Law in Florida

vop in fl

On a vop(2nd degree misdermeanor) can the state charge with anything other than that charge if no new crime was committed?: My gf is in jail on a vop in fl, she was orignally charged with a felony, but the state dropped that charge, she left to go see her brother without permission and when she returned they found out, served a warrarnt for her arrest, she is scheluded to go to court soon, but the pd office sent a plea argrment for 8 months but under fl the max on a second misdermeanor is 60 days. Can the state go back and charge with the orignal charge

Asked on 1/03/09, 12:25 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Valerie Masters Valerie Masters, P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: vop in fl

When you violate felony probation you are facing the max on the original charge

Read more
Answered on 1/03/09, 12:33 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now