My sister was concvicted of DUI 6 years ago. She received another recently, and is going to have a jury trial. Can the former DUI be brought up during the trial by the prosecuting attorney? Wouldn't this be pejudicing the jury?
Thank you
|
Read More Answered By: Brent Rose |
In almost all circumstances, the prior DUI may not be brought up in the trial. Only prior felonies (which DUI is not) or crimes involving dishonesty or false statement (which DUI is not) may be brought up against a defendant in a criminal trial, and even then usually only if a defendant takes the witness stand.
Your sister should file a motion in limine (pronounced "LIM-uh-nee") to prohibit the prosecution from mentioning the prior DUI in front of the jury, since mentioning it would be improper impeachment and would be unfairly prejudicial. |
St Petersburg, FL
Questions Answered: 2075
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 495
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-07-02
Fort Myers, FL
Questions Answered: 492
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-28
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 426
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-20
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 397
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Kissimmee, FL
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-14
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 296
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Pompano Beach, FL
Questions Answered: 257
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-05
► Is there a statue of limitation in Fla for a DUI case, recieved 22 years ago.
► Can an officer refuse to give a suspect field sobriety tests it the suspect asks for...
► I refused the breath test in the room with the breathalizer and and asked to take it...
► Irecieved a DUI GA 2001 and another in IL in 2004. I completed everything for IL who...
► I am out on bail for a DUI. My first court date is not until October 6th. Can I...
► I don't believe my attorney defended me properly. He did not gather all the evidence...
► What happens if I am wearing a t-shirt with the name of the restaurant that I work...
More Drunk Driving & DUI Law questions and answers in Florida| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press