Florida  |  Entertainment Law

question bubble
6/11/02, 11:38 pm

Legal Question


Plagerism

In 1983 I wrote a screen play I titled CHECKMATE. In a futile effort to have it reviewed by someone in show business I went to Venice Beach, California. I took a job as a bartender on the beach. I got lucky, less than a block away a new bar was opening and Dudley Moore and Liza Minelli were the partners that were just opening up the street from the place I was working. One evening just before their Grand Opening they came in to our place with all of their staff. I enjoyed a conversation with Mr. Moore that lasted about a hour. During that time I told him about my story Checkmate.

My story was about a Think Tank in NORAD. Through a series of events that are so remakably similar to a recent movie that it seems beyond sheer coincidence. The ending is virtually indentical and each major event in the movie concides with everything to such a degree that I belive either someone heard about it or that osmosis of ideas actually takes place in this life. What can I do if osmosis isn't the key? Is it possible that Dudley talked about my story and eventually it got to Clancey and the rest is box office history? And if so, what and where do I go?

Respectfully yours,

Not a nut case.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search