Florida | Family Law
Legal Question
Release of adoption documents to adoptive parents by attorney
Hi, I am trying to obtain: The Petition to Adopt, Consent to Reliquish, Final Decree of Adoption, Termination Order, and/or The Final Order of Adoption from the Attorney who handled my daughter's adoption over 17 yrs ago. I have called the attorney many times and sent 2 letters via certified mail only to be avoided. How can I get this attorney to make copies of these documents for me? Is this an unreasonable request? Should I offer to pay for her time? If so, how much? I would also like to recieve my daughter's birth family's social and medical backgrounds from my attorney. Does she have a right to deny this info from me? Thanks in advance for your help!


