Florida | Family Law
Legal Question
Splitting Marital Assets
Couple purchased home based on Wife's good credit. Lived in home 2 years together then separated. Husband remained in house with the couple's daughter and step-daughter while Wife paid him child support on and off. Husband been paying mortgage and bills on home and has done some improvements, mainly cosmetic, nothing structural. Husband moved out of home a year ago and gave children to Wife six months ago and paying him child support periodically. Due to Husband's expeditures, couple have declared bankruptcy which is not finalized as yet. They have decided to sell their home and Wife wants a 50/50 split of net proceeds since her credit, enabled them to purchase it, which has now been ruined by Husband's spending and their bankruptcy and her having the kids especially stepson. Husband wants 60/40 because he's paid on house. What would a Court decide ? What's the applicable law ?


