Florida | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
tinted windows
Is it legal to have dark
tinted windows in Florida cars?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Scott R. Jay |
Re: tinted windows NOTE: This communication is not intended as and should not be interpreted as legal advice. Rather, it is intended solely as a general discussion of legal principles. You should not rely on or take action based on this communication without first presenting ALL relevant details to a competent attorney in your jurisdiction and then receiving the attorney's individualized advice for you. By reading the "Response" to your question or comment, you agree that the opinion expressed is not intended to, nor does it, create any attorney-client relationship, nor does it constitute legal advice to any person reviewing such information, nor will it be considered an attorney-client privileged communication. If you do not agree, then stop right here, and do not read any further.
No. While tinted windows are legal, they are regulated by Florida law and cannot be "dark" tinting. The applicable Florida Statute is:
316.2954 Windows behind the driver; restrictions on sunscreening material.
(1) A person shall not operate any motor vehicle on any public highway, road, or street on which vehicle any windows behind the driver are composed of, covered by, or treated with any sunscreening material, or other product or material which has the effect of making the window nontransparent or which would alter the window's color, increase its reflectivity, or reduce its light transmittance, except as specified below:
(a) Sunscreening material consisting of film which, when applied to and tested on the rear window glass of the specific motor vehicle, has a total solar reflectance of visible light of not more than 35 percent as measured on the nonfilm side and a light transmittance of at least 15 percent in the visible light range; however, sunscreening material which, when applied to and tested on the rear window glass of the specific motor vehicle, has a total solar reflectance of visible light of not more than 35 percent as measured on the nonfilm side and a light transmittance of at least 6 percent in the visible light range may be used on multipurpose passenger vehicles.
Read the full statute for more information.
Scott R. Jay, Esq. |
Top Attorneys in FL
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Angelo Marino Jr. PA
Ft Lauderdale,
Questions Answered: 1811
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
William W. Gwaltney, Attorneys at Law
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Sanchez-Medina, Gonzalez, Quesada, Lage, Crespo, Gomez & MachadoLLP
Coral Gables, FL
Questions Answered: 806
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-12
Behren Law Firm
Weston, FL
Questions Answered: 768
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Offices of Marie-Anne Oatley
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 709
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-08-24
Search Questions and Answers


