Florida  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
9/20/09, 8:02 pm

Legal Question


I am a Canadian currently working on a H1B1 visa in the United States.

I would like to know if it is legal to be paid as a 1099 instead of being paid as a W2 while on a H1B1 work visa.

If it is legal, is it recommended or should it be avoided.

I have heard that lately immigration officer have been asking for Pay Slip from the W2 as a proof of being legally on the payroll.

Will this affect my ability to seek a green card in the future or later on apply for citizenship?

Any help would be welcome

Thanks

Clement


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search