Florida | Employment Law
Legal Question
Blacks given preference in promotion
Several years ago four blacks were promoted to the rank of Lt. in the fire dept. Today the all hold the position of Deputy Chief, making almost twice what I do. They were allowed to attend classes at county expense on county time to obtain their offficer certification for the State of Florida. I will have to pay for myself and attend classes off duty or with time trades to obtain those same certifications. I recently had the opportunity to question the head of Professional Standards about this practice and he said he has had discussions and this was done ''purely to portray ''diversity''. Have I been discriminated agaisnt?


