Florida  |  Employment Law

question bubble
9/04/02, 2:45 pm

Legal Question


Independent Contractor Status

I am a medical transcriptionist working as an ''independent contractor''. The only paperwork I filled out was an employment application at the time of hire. I have no contract documenting time schedules, time off, etc. Last October I was denied the Jewish holiday off. The company sets the time of delivery of work and has threatened to ''dock my salary $1.00 per page if I do not meet that time schedule''. Is it legal to dock wages of an independent contractor? Thank you in advance.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search