Florida | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
hate to have to leave
When I moved in dwelling 8 years ago,I had a verbal agreement with LL that if I remodel the dwelling out of my own pocket,that I would have option to buy.I have kept up my end of the agreement.I have not been paying rent since I have lived here,that was part of the deal.I have not seen no paperwork on the dwelling ,but it is said that someone else owns the property too.I have permission from that person also to live here,rent free as long as I keep the place up.to my understanding they are feuding over the dwelling.what are my legal rights to stay here? Is there a squatters rights in Fl?I don't here from the original person that I made the agreement with ,for about three years now,but the 2nd person I talk to regularly.I'm confused about my right as a tenant or buyer.If I pay the taxes on the dwelling does that help my chances of owning ? the 2nd person says they will sell it to me but they can't sell unless the other person signs the paperwork.I'm stuck in the middle not knowing anything.I would love to buy this place for I have raised my family here for the last 8 years,we have made it our home.Is there any advice that i could use to stay here?


