Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Florida

Mold/mildew

We just moved into a rental house and some problems came up. The water heater leaked and the AC unit was not working and the other one needed to be cleaned. The landlords have not given the realty company permission to allow the AC techs to clean the AC and we are all getting sick. The last AC tech. who came out and fix the thermostat said that the coils are so dirty that it is what is making us sick. There is layers of dirt, fur and mold/mildew on the coils and no one is doing anything about this. What are my rights? I live in FL. Can I have the work done myself and deduct it from rent and if so how do I go about that the legal way??? Please help I have 2 little girls who are exposed to this and I need to have it taken care of asap....

Thank you

Asked on 9/26/07, 10:11 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Mold/mildew

Florida Statute 83.60 details the procedure to follow. You can also call your Bd of health or City Code Enforcement Officer.

Read more
9/26/07, 10:28 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now