Florida | Legal Ethics
Legal Question
essay question for class
can a statement made in front of a jury by a presiding judge be admissable as evidence, or will it cause a mistrial if it can be used to sway the jury decision
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Brent Rose |
Re: essay question for class Statements made by the judge are not evidence, except under rare cicumstances such as "judicial notice," which is where a judge simply declares something to be true and announces it out loud. For instance, a judge may say, "I tkae judicial notice that steroids are often used by professional athletes." If something is pretty much well-known, the judge is allowed to simply declare something so that the lawyers don't have to go to the expense of proving it. The jury must believe it and accept it to be true.
It's possible that a judge could say something so improper that it could cause a mistrial, but remember that it's the judge who decides when a mistrial has occurred, so how likely is it that a judge will say that his or her own statement was so wrong that it caused a mistrial? It has happened, though. For instance, a judge could say something like, "I wouldn't believe the defendant if his tongue came notarized" in front of the jury. The judge's own statement would be improper if made in front of the jury, and a mistrial would have to be declared. |
Top Attorneys in FL
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Offices of Steven Meyer
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 397
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
florence f. hessen,esq
Wellington, FL
Questions Answered: 197
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-07
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Stanley A. Spring, Attorney at Law
Pensacola, FL
Questions Answered: 46
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-12-08
The Law Offices of A. Reese Harvey
North Palm Beach, FL
Questions Answered: 7
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-27
Redding & Associates, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-15
Search Questions and Answers


