Florida  |  Legal Ethics

question bubble
11/02/09, 8:08 pm

Legal Question


I was referred to a general contractor to redo my kitchen. Turned out he was not a general contractor so much as a handyman with a business called "Davis Services". He did not draft up a formal contract for the job and being he was referred by a close friend I allowed him to start this way. I gave him $3300 cash in which I was issued a receipt which stated all the work to be done and specified what I paid up front and what was owed. It was supposed to be a 3 days job which was started in August. On August 13th, he came and did the rip out. On August 14th, he told me the granite guy was missing in action. As days passed, he tells me he thinks maybe the granite guy is dead because it is a close friend of his who would never do this but then he admits he paid him in full upfront and he disapperared with all my materials (cabinets, granite and appliances). I asked him during the weeks passing on multiple occasions if he put out a police report on the gus who stole thousands of dollars in merchandise. He said no because it was his friend but he would reorder all my materials at no cost to me and start the job when everything came in. I just received my cabinets two weeks ago, they were installed wrong and the excuses began again. He offered me my money back less the actual cost of the cabinets. I got him to sign a contract stating he would not be conducting any more work on the house, which stated the amount of the refund due and the amount which he paid me right there. The contract also stated he would pay me the remainder of the refund by end of day today. Although the contract was not notarized I had two witnesses present when he signed it. Is there anything I can do considering he signed a contract stating he would refund the rest of the money by today? I have attempted to call him multiple times today with no luck. Please help.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search