Florida | Medical Malpractice
Legal Question
Many complications after gastric bypass surgery
My 30 year old daughter entered the hospital for gastric bypass surgery because of morbid obesety. She had the original surgery on November 13, 2001. She has been in the hospital near death with many complications since then. She developed what the surgeon called MRSA pneumonia. She developed a fungus infection in her blood. They had to do two more surgeries to correct infections and to repair a damaged intestine from the first surgery that had resulted in an abcess resulting in the infection spreading to her abdominal cavity. She has spent approximately 5 weeks in intensive care and an additional 4 days in CCU for an irregular heart beat. She is currently in a regular room, but the ward nurse is trying to return her to CCU for a extraordinarily high heart rate and the CCU will not take her. We have been told that in Florida only my daughter can start any type of proceedings against the hospital but in her condition she cannot do anything. If she passes away do we have any recourse against the hospital?


