Florida  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
6/09/09, 10:34 pm

Legal Question


Property Damage Release

Wife met with auto accident - both property damage and personal injury:

1. Should we wait until we are ready to settle personal injury ? Or can I settle property damage independently of personal injury ?

2. If I want to get the property damage settled first, I want to make sure I am not signing everything they send blindly. They sent the following documents for me to sign:

(i) Bill of sale (it seems like a sale document from us to the insurance company and to be notarized as well)

(ii) Property damage release - this has all sorts of legal wording on it that I want to be careful before signing. Just want to know is it normal. It has wording like ''release, acquit and forever discharge from any and all claims, actions, causes of action, demands, rights, damages,costs, loss of service, expenses and compensation whatsoever ... It is understood and agreed that this settlement is the compromise of a doubtful and disputed claim and that the payment is not be construed as an admission of liability on the part of the party .. said release intend merely to avoid litigation and buy peace. To be notarized

(iii)Motor vehicle Power of Attorney/Odometer disclosure form

(iv)original car title to be enclosed


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search