Florida | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
An erroneous/fraudulent Quit Claim deed was filed on my grandparents home in Miami-Dade County, Florida. Shortly after we received a notification from the clerk advising us of the same. Before we could respond we received a notification from a court employee stating that:
“There is a deed recorded in Record Book ___ Page(s) ____. See attached associated with the above referenced property, which appears to have a discrepancy in its legal description. At this point in time we are unable to process the deed. Please examine the attached deed and notify our department if the legal description is correct as intended”.
The error on the deed was the page in the legal description.
Several months later we come to find out that there is a fraudulent mortgage on the property. The mortgage was obtained by using the fraudulent deed indicated above.
My question is: Is the Deed mentioned above considered valid even after the Clerk sent us a letter stating it was not valid????
Thank you for your help, my, grandparents are elderly and have lived their entire life to pay off their home. The house is free and clear for several years and then this happens. You can imagine they are not taking the situation very well.


