Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Florida

Recently I had a boyfriend tell me that if I would move in after he started the proceedings on buying a home, that he would tell the bank to put my name on the Mortgage, and that my name would be on the deed to the home. I have bad credit. I know that the financial institution would advise him not to put me on the mortgage, and would decline me,as my credit stinks.So he said he would just put me on the deed. If he defaulted on payments, wouldn't that make me responsible for the payments on a house, improving his credit rating? And doing nothing for mine?

Asked on 8/04/09, 8:00 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Edward J. Chandler Law Office of Edward J. Chandler, P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If you are only on the deed, you will not be responsible for the mortgage. Your credit is not effected, even if he defaulted.

Read more
8/11/09, 8:07 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88122 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now