Florida  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
2/07/10, 6:08 pm

Legal Question


We signed a document stating these:

"You are entering into a contract with a mortgage brokerage business to obtain a bona fide mortgage loan commitment under the same terms and conditions as stated hereinabove or in a separate executed good faith estimate form. If the mortgage brokerage business obtains a bona fide commitment under the same terms and conditions, you will be obligated to pay the mortgage brokerage business fees, including, but not limited to, a mortgage brokerage fee, even if you choose not to complete the loan transaction. If the provisions of s. 494.00421, Florida Statutes, are not met, the mortgage brokerage fee can only be earned upon the funding of the mortgage loan. The borrower may contact the Department of Financial Services, Tallahassee, Florida, regarding any complaints that the borrower may have against the mortgage broker or the mortgage brokerage business. The telephone number of the department is: [insert telephone number] ."

The house failed inspection, no appraisal was made, purchase cancellation was made. Now, broker is asking for the brokerage fees using the even if you choose not to complete the loan transaction clause. How can he say that he obtain a bona fide commitment when we did not even reach any deal with the seller, the loan did not push through and it was not funded?

Will appreciate all the answers. Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search