Florida  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
12/29/00, 10:28 pm

Legal Question


transfer of real estate

Dear Sir/Madam: Two people owned a house without survivorship rights, and one died without a will. The estate of the decesed was never probated, the death was over 10 years ago, and the only estate asset was the house. The deceased has six children--no husband at time of death. The six children would like to transfer their respective portions to the surviving owner who currently lives in the house. The deed to the house is currently in the name of the deceased and the surviving owner. The house is currently valued under $120,000; therefore, gift tax considerations are moot. What steps need to be taken to achieve a legal transfer?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search