Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Florida

A year ago I co-signed on a vehicle with my son, who is in the Army. It is registered in Alabama and he is stationed in Texas. Recently he decided he couldnít afford it anymore and sold it to someone who was getting out of the Army and returning home to Florida. Their agreement was that he would send my son the money for the payments and when he got a job and could get a loan they would complete the sale. To protect myself, I want to go get the vehicle. I called the county sheriff in Florida where itís located to see if they could escort me and was told I could not get the vehicle without pursuing it legally as a civil matter. Is their contract legal? How should I proceed?

Asked on 7/07/11, 3:52 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alan Wagner Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You only cosigned on the loan, at least that is what it sounds like. If so, you have no rights to the car.

Read more
7/17/11, 7:20 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88263 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now