Florida | Social Security Law
Legal Question
Minor child's Social Security Beneifts
If parent takes early retirement at 62 is the 50% payment to the minor based on the reduced amount of age 62 or the full amount at age 66?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Brent Rose |
Re: Minor child's Social Security Beneifts I see why you're confused. The rule says your child's payment is based on 50% of your "full retirement benefit amount." My understanding is that the child's payment would be based on the the age-62 amount, not the age-66 amount, since your "full retirement benefit" would then be the age-62 amount. But I've never come across the question before, and I could be wrong.
I hate to say this, but I think you'll have to spend an hour or so on the phone with SSA, since I can't find a definitive answer to your question, and I hope for your sake I'm wrong. |
Top Attorneys in FL
Lucreita D. Becude, P.A.
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 2849
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Michael M. Tobin, P.A.
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
The Shigo Law Firm, P.A.
Gainesville, FL
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-19
Law Office of Gordon T. Nicol
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 138
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-05-26
C. Daniel Akes, Attorney at Law
Lakeland, FL
Questions Answered: 110
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-08-19
Levine, Busch & Schnepper, P.A.
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 45
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Riggins Law Firm, PA
Ocala, FL
Questions Answered: 39
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-26
Rosenthal, Levy & Simon, P.A.
West Palm Beach, FL
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-12-12
Search Questions and Answers


