Florida | Social Security Law
Legal Question
social security
married at 17 to a very nice man. We seperated in 9th year. A divorce went through ( I didnt know till after). Then we got back together a week later. Since we were really apart less than year, we wanted atty to go before judge and correct it. We were told it would just be easier to remarry.
we got bk tog for that. HE DIED the following week. only 29. We had one child.
We were married legally right at 9.7 years. I have never remarried. I am now 52, disabled, fighting social security long time, finally losing my benefit rights through bs re-processing so many times in denyle. I have 7 dieases caused by immune disorder called connective tissue. I can never work normally again. I tried.
I am wanting to file for my husbands instead of SSI.
2 QUESTIONS:
To your knowledge, has anyone fought and won social security in getting surving divorced spouse benefits less than then the ten years under any situations within a year of the 10 years....
Simular to mine (9.5 years)
and if so, do you have any referrences or feedback in such situations?
#2 Question:
Can I apply for ssi, and then turn around and apply for his going to court to ask then to switch it to his, (type of process) which is best way to process.


