Florida | Tax Law
Legal Question
if you marry someone who owes back IRS taxes, do you become liable for the past debt which is outstanding?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Steven Klitzner |
No. However, his liability will affect you. The IRS will be able to levy joint bank accounts that the two of you have. When the IRS files a lien it will attach to any property that the two of you own together. Also, you may have to file separate tax returns, which will cost you more in taxes. Your spouse should take care of the tax problem, so that the two of you do not have to look over your shoulders in fear that the IRS is coming. Call me if you need help. Steve Klitzner. www.FloridaTaxSolvers.com. |
Top Attorneys in FL
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Robert Brian Roemer LLC
Palm Beach Gardens,
Questions Answered: 760
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Sanford M. Martin, P.A.
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 580
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Martin Law Office
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 376
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-06-10
The Shigo Law Firm, P.A.
Gainesville, FL
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-19
Law Offices of John DeLancett, PL.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 135
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Search Questions and Answers


