Florida  |  Tax Law

question bubble
10/05/08, 11:42 pm

Legal Question


Pension of deceased law enforcement officer

My husband was a law enforcement officer who suffered from cardiac problems. His medical condition was deemed work related and he was covered under the ''Heart Bill''. He had been retired for 3 years and continued to receive medical treatment paid by worker's comp for this duty related illness. He recently passed away from a heart attack, again considered duty related. Is his Florida State Retirement Sysyem pension that I now receive, tax exempt as his death was related to an illness/injury fromm his duty? Other officers with same situation, only pre retirement, their spouses receive the pension tax free.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search