Florida  |  Veterans Law

question bubble
5/22/07, 9:13 am

Legal Question


Hiring preference

I am a disabled Vietnam era veteran (Purple Heart) who is 80% disabed (V.A.) and medically retired from my service . I applied for a civilian position with the Coast Guard for which I am more than fully qualified. I was not even considered for that position. The Coast Guard explained that because they committed an administrative error'' in the process of filling another vacant position and thereby excluding some candidates from consideration, they chose to give those applicants ''priority consideration'' for the position I applied for. Although this is an option OPM policy allows for, they could have also vacated the bad hire and restructured the selection process for the former position. Their choice noit to served to deny me the preference Congress intended for me to enjoy in Federal hiring practices. I believe their actions violated both the letter and the spirit of Congress expressed in the Veterans law. Agree?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search