Legal Question in Business Law in Georgia

stop payment of check

I own a booth rental/consignment shop. I rent spaces by the month with a signed contract that says they have to give 7 day notice if they don't want to rent booth anymore. Someone came in and rented a booth and paid me the rest of that month plus the next month. They ask if I would hold the check until Friday (check was not post dated) I said yes I deposited check on the following Monday check was returned to me stop payment. Can they do that with out saying anything to me?

Asked on 9/14/07, 9:15 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Charles W. Field Charles W. Field, Attorney at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: stop payment of check

Since you agreed to hold the check, you can't take out a bad check warrant. However, you can sue them in small claims court.

Read more
9/14/07, 5:09 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Georgia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8804 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Business Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino & La, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now