Georgia | Constitutional Law
Legal Question
Interstate Commerce
No problem, besides the Federal Government.
Is it true that the Federal government can prohibit activities, such as smoking marijuana, based on the Interstate Commerce Act; and, if so, how?
Thank you.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Charles Aspinwall |
Re: Interstate Commerce The federal government has jurisdiction over interstate transactions by virtue of the "Commerce Clause" of the US Constitution. Over the years what constitutes interstate commerce has been creatively interpreted to include many activities which on initial inspection would not seem to fit the definition. Although medical marijuana is legal in California and elsewhere, and is grown, processed and sold entirely within California's borders, the feds nonetheless take the position that it is their concern and it remains illegal under federal law. The Supreme Court recently stated that it is up to congress to legalize MJ if that is to be. In recent years under conservative leadership the federal government has become more and more intrusive into states rights, as witness the Oregon assisted-suicide law attacked in the courts by then attorney general Ashcroft. |
Top Attorneys in GA
Ashman Law Office
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 8779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Scott B. Riddle, Attorney
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 5580
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Tran Lankford, Attorney at Law
Decatur, GA
Questions Answered: 136
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-13
Edmund B Burke, Attorney at Law
Hartwell, GA
Questions Answered: 74
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-09-22
Reisman Law
Chattanooga, TN
Questions Answered: 68
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-01
Parekh Law LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 10
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-17
Walker Chandler, Attorney at Law
Zebulon, GA
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-09-03
Humphrey & Associates
London,
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


