Georgia | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
credit collectors harrassing me
i am in the military. a debt collector has called my family and myself claiming to be a military prosecutor, which is false, threatening me with jail time and dishonorable discharge if i don't pay. can i take legal recourse against them?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Ms. Tran Lankford |
Re: credit collectors harrassing me It appears from what you have stated that the debt collector may have violated Federal laws and state laws, which regulate the ways a debt collector can go about collecting the debt, even if the debts are legitimate. If you are an active member of the Military, you may have additional options of handling these debt collectors. I would need to talk to you to find out more information, please feel free to contact me for a free consultation or any attorney you wish.
In responding to your question in this matter, the Firm is not expressing an opinion on whether you will ultimately prevail if legal action is pursued. You should not refrain from seeking legal assistance from another firm if you desire another opinion. Because time is always important, and could be critically short in your case, you may wish to seek another opinion as soon as possible.
The information contained in this correspondence is provided as a free consultation only, based on the limited facts given by you, and does not constitute legal advice. I try to provide quality information, but I make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to this E-mail. As legal advice must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case, and laws are constantly changing, nothing provided herein should be used as a substitute for the advice of competent counsel. |
Top Attorneys in GA
Ashman Law Office
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 8772
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Scott B. Riddle, Attorney
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 5578
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Charles W. Field, Attorney at Law
Lawrenceville (north Atlanta), GA
Questions Answered: 3531
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-27
Hunter Law Office
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 2695
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Law Office of John A. Jackson, P.C.
Charleston, SC
Questions Answered: 720
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Law Offices of Pearlie L. Bush
Lithonia (east Metro Atlanta), GA
Questions Answered: 189
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-05-24
Law Offices of Cyrus K. Malekabadi
Alpharetta, GA
Questions Answered: 140
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-10
Tran Lankford, Attorney at Law
Decatur, GA
Questions Answered: 136
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-13
Search Questions and Answers


