Georgia  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 9/22/13, 6:37 am

My daughter is 17 years old and was arrested for shoplifting. She is being charged as an adult. She received a letter in the mail from a law firm in Florida demanding a payment of $150.00 in 30 days for recovery of damages or a civil suit will be filed. Should she respond to this?

3 Answers


Answered on: 9/22/13, 6:55 am by Scott Riddle

You should take any legal issue surrounding this incident VERY seriously. This starts with a good criminal lawyer for your daughter, so hopefully your daughter does not enter adulthood with a criminal conviction. That lawyer may also assist with resolving the dispute with the store and Florida firm. Certainly, if your daughter stole something the store is entitled to get their property (or value) back. We don't know the story and you did not tell us. Have a lawyer handle it. A civil suit will also follow your daughter around for years to come.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLC Suite 1530 Tower Place, 3340 Peachtree Road Atlanta, GA 30326

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/22/13, 7:55 am by Glen Ashman

She needs a very good criminal lawyer. Your daughter is at risk of paying fines, going to jail and having a theft conviction on her criminal record for life, making her pretty much unemployable forever. She should have ALREADY hired one. Do it today - not soon - now.

As for the civil letter, give it to her lawyer. Generally those letters are garbage and a suit is almost never filed. He'll probably tell her to ignore that and focus on the criminal case. A lawyer is likely to get a far better result in the criminal case than would happen otherwise.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Ashman Law Office 2791 Main Street EAST POINT Atlanta, GA 30344

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/25/13, 12:55 pm by Lawrence Lewis

YES< unless she wants to be dragged to court on the civil demand. See website for info on retaining the right attorney: http://www.lawrencelewispc.com/pages.php?go=pinfo&PID=38

Good luck


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Lawrence Lewis, P.C. 242 Culver Street, Suite 103 Lawrenceville, GA 30045

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search