got a DUI on a golf cart,in a gated community...how to find out if it is a registered vehicle ?
1 Answer from Attorneys
Georgia law does not require a vehicle to be registered, only that the vehicle is a motor vehicle (which a golf cart is) being operated anywhere within the state. Therefore, driving a golf cart on private property can get you convicted of DUI. If you were charged with driving an unregistered vehicle, that sounds like a bit of a shaky case, although golf carts are not registered unless they have a license plate. Nevertheless, this is the type of case which an experienced lawyer could probably get dropped or reduced.
The answer to this questions is informational only, and it is not intended to be legal advise. Only an attorney who has met with you and gone over all of the specific facts of your case can give you legal advice upon which you should rely. Follow up questions are welcome via the email below, and our firm offers free consultations via phone or in person. We have convenient offices in Winder, Jefferson, and Gainesville Georgia, and you should feel free to contact our office at (770) 307-4899, via email at email@example.com, or through our website: hicksmasseyandgardner.com.
Related Questions & Answers
Can a 20 year old date a 17 year old in the state of georgia? Asked 8/31/13, 4:06 pm in United States Georgia Criminal Law
I was arrested and charged for a crime I didn't commit.. my lawyer says I can go to... Asked 8/30/13, 11:49 am in United States Georgia Criminal Law
15 years ago i was arrested in georgia for stealing a license plate, recently i was... Asked 8/29/13, 10:16 am in United States Georgia Criminal Law
My sons father was charged with statutory rape. Is he restricted from seeing his own... Asked 8/28/13, 11:48 am in United States Georgia Criminal Law