Georgia  |  Entertainment Law

question bubble
9/16/08, 8:55 am

Legal Question


Copyrighting Songs and Lyrics

I am performing 5 original songs at a live show in October. I have not completed the album that will include these 5 songs but I want to protect myself from someone else recording my performance and then claiming the songs as theirs.

Q - Can I copyright these 5 songs as one compilation of 5 songs and then copyright them again on the 12 song album once the album is finalized? My goal is to protect the songs until the album is finalized but I want to make sure there is no conflict with multiple copyright claims. Thanks so much.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search