Georgia | Family Law
Legal Question
Am I Married?
How can you find out if you were/are considered common law married in the state of Georgia?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Ms. Tran Lankford |
Re: Am I Married? Beginning on July 1, 1997, common law marriages are no longer recognized in Georgia; however, if you were common law spouses before that date, your marriage is legally recognized by Georgia. In order to have a valid common law marriage prior to the date already mentioned, you must satisfy three requirements and consummate the relationship by cohabitation. In sum, you both have to hold yourselves out as husband and wife before the world. If you need to know the specifics of the statute, it is in the Official Code of Georgia Annotated. I hope this has provided some information for you at least.
|
Top Attorneys in GA
Ashman Law Office
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 8779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Scott B. Riddle, Attorney
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 5580
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Charles W. Field, Attorney at Law
Lawrenceville (north Atlanta), GA
Questions Answered: 3531
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-27
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
RAGOLE & ASSOCIATES, LLC
Roswell, GA
Questions Answered: 723
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-17
Law Office of John A. Jackson, P.C.
Charleston, SC
Questions Answered: 720
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Harold D. Holcombe, P.C.
Lawrenceville, GA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-04
GeorgiaFamilyLaw.com : Worrall Law LLC
Marietta, GA
Questions Answered: 191
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-07
Law Offices of Pearlie L. Bush
Lithonia (east Metro Atlanta), GA
Questions Answered: 189
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-05-24
Search Questions and Answers


