Legal Question in Family Law in Georgia

What are my rights? My husband wants to kick me out!

I am a married 42 year old mother of four children ranging in ages from 20 - 8. I have been married 22 years, we live in an apartment and have grown apart over the years, my husband is the only one working and he keeps threatening to put me out. I have no friends or relatives to turn to, no extra money saved, and no means of support at this time. I have been faithful in my marriage and have been a stay at home mother most of my marriage. There have been times I have worked, but I do not have a career. What are my legal rights? Can my husband kick me out of the house? My name is not on the apartment lease. What steps should I take in order that me and my children are not left destitute? Can you give me a list of organizations that I can look into? He says he wants a divorce, which I don't have a problem with that, but I refuse to be controlled in the mean time, what steps can I take?

Asked on 11/29/02, 12:10 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: What are my rights? My husband wants to kick me out!

Your question is too complex to answer in a forum such as this one. However, feel free to contact my office for further consultation.

Read more
12/03/02, 5:23 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Georgia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8808 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino & La, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now