Georgia | Immigration Law
Legal Question
i have two dui cases in 5 months in ga.
and i have boyfriend and he just get the permanent resident card a two months ago and we will get married... can he apply for me for something... or he canot because i have two dui...???
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Marc Seguinot |
From the looks of things, your boyfriend was petitioned by a family member, yes? You are not married and therefore he cannot petition for you for any form of visa. It is important to know all the facts of your case before any attorney can assess what can be done or not done. If you keep it at two dui's, those convictions should not pose too much difficulty to overcome in an application to get your residency. What is important is the answer to several questions to determine what you can do. Even when your boyfriend gets his green card, and you get married, although he will be able to petition for you, all will depend on how long it will take to reach your priority date (your date of filing) so that the U.S. Dept. of State can allow you to have a visa to enter the U.S. This is a very complicated area of law, this immigration stuff. I would not leave it in the hands of anyone but a good experienced immigration lawyer. If you have more questions, you can reach me on www.seglegal.com, or if you need a lawyer, check out www.aila.org. Good luck! |
Top Attorneys in GA
Scott B. Riddle, Attorney
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 5580
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Michael S. Cho
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 560
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Ajay K. Arora, Attorney-at-Law, P.C.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Rebecca White
Seattle,
Questions Answered: 296
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Law Offices of Seeta Nangia
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 255
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-09
Lee Lane Smith LLP
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 223
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-12-06
VILLANI& ASSOCIATES, P.C.
Gainesville, GA
Questions Answered: 179
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-10-27
Manchanda Law Offices PLLC
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 137
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-15
Meyner and Landis LLP
Newark, NJ
Questions Answered: 102
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-01-09
Richard Alvoid, PA
Pensacola, FL
Questions Answered: 60
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-11-24
Search Questions and Answers


