Georgia | Military Law
Legal Question
Returning To Duty
If a person is supposed to return to duty, and fails to do so what are the consequences? If that person flees to another state to the home of another what the concequences that both are facing?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Donald G. Rehkopf, Jr. |
Re: Returning To Duty First, contact an attorney as soon as possible. The military member who fails to return, is at once, "AWOL," or "absent without leave." That is a crime under the Uniform Code of Military Justice [UCMJ]. Depending on the factual circumstances, the military person could also be charged with Desertion, which is a very serious offense under the UCMJ.
Depending on how long the person is gone [a few days versus weeks, months or years] generally governs how the government decides to prosecute the case. The military will put out a "Deserter Warrant," which means that any police officer anywhere can arrest the person and they will generallly be held in the local jail until the military comes to pick them up - and they generally don't act too fast after that happens.
As far as the other person, the person where the "fugitive" is residing, that is a bit more complicated. There are crimes called "Harboring a Fugitive," or being an accessory after the fact that MIGHT apply. I cannot tell or give an answer in this forum.
If the military person is from a Base in Georgia, a good friend of mine there who practices Military Law also, may be able to negotiate a surrender and make things a bit easier. E-mail me directly if you would like his name & phone number.
Good Luck and try and resolve this problem as quickly as possible, but only after you obtain a lawyer to insure that it's done correctly.
Don Rehkopf |
|
Read More Answered By: Michael Brandabur |
Re: Returning To Duty The question depends on what duty? If you are member of the National Guard, then the State UCMJ (Uniformed Code of Military Justice) applies. An exceptino exists if you are in the Guard and it was activated, which then means the unit is in Title 10 status, thereby subjecting you to the Federal UCMJ. Your status will likely be AWOL (Absent Without Leave), depending upon the amount of elapsed time and other factors. The penalty for AWOL can run all the way to a Capital offense (death penalty) depending on a few factors. Once AWOL (and a certain time has passed), the FBI may become involved. The violation is a federal offense, thereby subjecting anyone that aides or abets you to being guilty of a federal felony. I'm personally aware of prosecutions occurring twenty years after the offense began. If only a short time has elapsed, then the failure to return to duty may be treated as something other than AWOL. There also may be defenses on proper notification, etc. I strongly urge you to immediately contact an attorney familiar with military law. |
Top Attorneys in GA
Scott B. Riddle, Attorney
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 5579
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Military Law & Justice
Alexandria, VA
Questions Answered: 311
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-20
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Law Offices of Scot Sikes
Columbus, GA
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-10
Steven Brand, Attorney at Law
Cedar Park (austin), TX
Questions Answered: 76
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-08-25
Law Offices of Laurie M. Thomas
Savannah, GA
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-28
Philip Simmons
Beaverton, OR
Questions Answered: 16
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-09-10
Law Office of Stephen P. Karns
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-29
Gerard Linder, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-30
Search Questions and Answers


