Georgia | Sexual Harassment
Legal Question
If my manager at work sent me inappropriate text messages and said in them that he wants to make love to me is that sexual harassment and what do I do?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Gregory Fidlon |
I would recommend that you immediately complain in writing to either your company's HR department (if it has one) or to your manager's supervisor. Activities such as this may form the basis for a "hostile work environment" claim, but you would need to show that they were sufficiently severe or pervasive. In this jurisdiction, it is unlikely that an isolated incident or even a few text messages like this would satisfy that standard. However, if this behavior persists on a daily basis and prevents you from adequately performing your job duties, then you may have a viable claim. In any event, by making the internal complaint, you will trigger a duty on the part of your employer to investigate and remedy the manager's misconduct. The law protects employees from being retaliated against for making such complaints. If you need assistance with your complaint, or if you are not satisfied with your employer's response, I would suggest that you contact an attorney, such as myself, experienced at handling sexual harassment cases in Georgia.
LEGAL NOTICE: This forum is designed to provide general information only. The information provided does not constitute legal advice and no attorney-client relationship has been established. You waive any right to confidentiality by posting information on this site. Communications on this site do not and cannot substitute for a full consultation with an attorney practicing in your jurisdiction, and you are encouraged to consult with such an attorney for guidance regarding your individual circumstances. Do not take any action or inaction based on information presented herein since it may not be accurate or applicable to you. |
Top Attorneys in GA
Scott B. Riddle, Attorney
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 5580
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Cook Legal Services, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1845
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Law Office of John A. Jackson, P.C.
Charleston, SC
Questions Answered: 720
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Tran Lankford, Attorney at Law
Decatur, GA
Questions Answered: 136
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-13
Rouse & Company, LLC
Snellville, GA
Questions Answered: 123
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-22
Law Offices of Gregory R. Fidlon, P.C.
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 112
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Edmund B Burke, Attorney at Law
Hartwell, GA
Questions Answered: 74
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-09-22
Reisman Law
Chattanooga, TN
Questions Answered: 68
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-01
The Gbenjo Law Group
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 43
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-04-23
Search Questions and Answers


