Legal Question in Bankruptcy in Illinois

I received a notice from our county circuit court saying that "an order for default was entered on 05/17/2011 by a judge". This is regarding a judgment Discover Card obtained against us for a debt we owe them. I understand that the creditor can freeze my checking account now. I'm in the process of filing for Chapter 13 as fast as we can. But in the meantime, my question is, how long will it take, after filing the Chapter 13, to keep the creditors from freezing my bank account? Thank you.

Asked on 6/12/11, 1:31 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Charles Dobra Charles Wm. Dobra, Ltd.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The minute you file the Automatic Stay provisions of the Code come into effect. Didn't your BK attorney tell you this?

Read more
6/12/11, 3:21 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8809 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Bankruptcy Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino & La, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now