Legal Question in Appeals and Writs in Illinois

Are there grounds for an appeal if the judge makes a derogatory statement after handing down sentence? Example: The judge handed down sentence, then looked over at the guard and said "Get Chester the molester out of here"

Asked on 5/12/10, 4:41 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jonathan Shimberg SHIMBERG and CROHN, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Maybe grounds for a complaint to the Judicial Inquiry Board for an improper coment, but probably not grounds for an appeal.

Read more
5/21/10, 8:20 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Appeals and Writs questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8782 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now