Legal Question in Business Law in Illinois

The business of a friend of mine has recently had an issue. A former board member was voted out of a promotion and left the company. He has taken the former URL of the company and forwarded it to a new start-up. The board member purchased the URL, but on behalf of the original company, and upon leaving offered to sell the URL for an amount deemed unfair. Along with the redirecting the URL he also intercepts all the Emails that go to the former website and has been using the contact list from the first company, and has been cold-calling members asking them to leave and join the start-up. Both companies are registered non-profit ministerial alliance type of businesses. Are there any actions that be taken to keep him from intercepting emails and forwarding the domain to the new company or is this an issue of ethics?

Asked on 4/06/10, 3:17 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Burton Padove Indiana and Illinois Lawyer, Burton A. Padove
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If he purchased the URL on behalf of the corporation, then the corporation owns it and he can be sued for conversion.

Read more
4/11/10, 8:55 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88283 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Business Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now