Legal Question in Business Law in Illinois

What legal standing does something written in the memo field of a check have? A client is claiming to own something he has no contract for by writing "ownership" in the memo line of checks.

There are two checks involved. One, I'm afraid I cashed without noticing the memo line. I'm afraid to cash the other. I was going to endorse it with a "an acceptance under reservation of rights" inscription but I read that does not apply in accord and satisfaction cases. So my question is: Can I cash the check without giving up my rights? Did I give up any rights by cashing the previous check?

(This is has to do with copyrights, but it could just as well be anything. If I rent you a house or a car, can you you change the terms to purchase just by writing that in the memo line of your rent check? Suppose no lease exists. I am not seeking advice on the copyright issues; I understand those pretty well. I just want to know whether cashing the checks could any difference.)

Asked on 3/17/13, 3:51 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Sanford M. Martin Sanford M. Martin, P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No the memo notation on a check does not convert it to a written contract,

binding both parties. You may cross it out before you cash it, also.

Read more
3/18/13, 6:21 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88283 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Business Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now