Illinois | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
we have some outstanding debt that we have recently been summonsed for. what is going to happen during these proceedings and what are our options?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Thomas Moens |
The exact mechanics differ in different counties, but generally: You will need to appear in court to see if you can settle the matter with the creditor's attorney. If not, the court will set a date and time for trial. The creditor will need to prove that you owe the money. If you have any defenses, this is the time to present them. If the creditor wins, judgment will be entered, and the creditor will attempt to collect the money, either through garnishing bank accounts or wages, and sometimes through agreed payment plans. |
Top Attorneys in IL
Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 3776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Moens Law Offices, Chartered
Moline, IL
Questions Answered: 2176
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
SHIMBERG and CROHN, P.C.
Evanston, IL
Questions Answered: 1184
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
www.looplawfirm.com
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 694
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Offices of Motty Stone
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
Sanford M. Martin, P.A.
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 582
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Ashman Law Offices, LLC
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 503
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-08
The Tracy Firm, Ltd.
Naperville, IL
Questions Answered: 239
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Law Offices of Thaddeus Hunt
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 190
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-12-12
Search Questions and Answers


