Illinois | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
If i owe from a repo car over 27,000 can I send payment amounts lower than what they want. If so can they refuse my payments
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Adam Tracy |
Thank you for your question. You find yourself in what I would describe as "no man's land". Since they have repossessed the car, you are no liable for the deficiency amount. Have they taken you to court to get a judgment yet? If not, you are liable for the full amount at any given time; whatever monthly payment they state that they are willing to accept is largely aspirational - that is, they can sue you for the entire amount at anytime. So, yes, technically you can send them whatever you want. Have you considered working out a settlement with them? Alternately, have you considered a bankruptcy? Please feel free to email me directly with any further questions you may have: at@tracyfirm.com |
Top Attorneys in IL
Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 3776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Moens Law Offices, Chartered
Moline, IL
Questions Answered: 2176
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
SHIMBERG and CROHN, P.C.
Evanston, IL
Questions Answered: 1184
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
www.looplawfirm.com
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 694
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Offices of Motty Stone
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
Sanford M. Martin, P.A.
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 582
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Ashman Law Offices, LLC
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 503
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-08
The Tracy Firm, Ltd.
Naperville, IL
Questions Answered: 239
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Law Offices of Thaddeus Hunt
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 190
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-12-12
Search Questions and Answers


