Illinois  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
6/06/05, 9:36 am

Legal Question


Is My Attorney Doing All He Can?

On March 13th of 2004 My motorcycle was stolen, through a potential buyer, who took advantage of a deal we had made, and closed out the account holding the money after taking possession of the motorcycle. I hired an attorney, and over a year has passed, I found the defendant, I provided enough evidence that the defendant and his attorney agreed to settle, that was nearly 120 days ago, given that this is a civil case... How long must I wait for a settlement?

Do I have any rights to give a LEGAL deadline? My attorney keeps saying, that it takes a long time, and until we hear back from the defendants attorney to discuss the settlement, we can only continue with litigation. To me this case seems open and shut. How long should I count on waiting? I have been paying the monthly payments every month while the defendant has my stolen property (assuming he still has it). What are my options here, or do I have to just hope, pray and wait??? Thank you so much for the information. I am tired and frustrated, and just trying to get a second opinion.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search