Legal Question in Civil Litigation in Illinois

My boyfriend gave me a $8,000 check for Christmas. He knew I wasn't able to cash it the first or second week after he gave it to me. He asked when I was going to cash it, I told him what day I could. He was online dating again while we were together and one of my best friends saw him on there and told me the day before he knew I was cashing the check. So I go to bank the next day and he had put a stop payment on the check either late afternoon the day before or that very day. Also, that morning he called and said he wanted to see other people, but nothing about canceling the check. Am I entitled to that money as it was a gift?

Asked on 2/04/13, 8:54 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Sal Sheikh www.looplawfirm.com
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Why did u wait two weeks to cash it?

Read more
2/04/13, 12:33 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8661 active attorneys ready to answer your legal qustions today.

General Civil Litigation Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessHuntington Beach, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now