Legal Question in Civil Litigation in Illinois

My fiance's ex constantly makes public comments regarding me whenever we see her. I am respectful and try to avoid it from happening. It is always at the children's functions that we are both attending. Very inappropriate and I will not lower mysel to respond, but it has been ongoing for two+ years and I want it to stop. Is this slander?

Asked on 4/03/13, 12:42 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Thomas Moens Moens Law Offices, Chartered
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Possibly. It depends on what she saying, since slander, by definition, is a false statement and must be damaging in some way.

Read more
Answered on 4/04/13, 6:59 am

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88413 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

General Civil Litigation Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now