Illinois | Immigration Law
Legal Question
Citizenship
I would like to know how an American citizen, born in the United States, would go about giving up their citizenship and becoming a citizen of another country.
Citizenship
I would like to know how an American citizen, born in the United States, would go about giving up their citizenship and becoming a citizen of another country.
|
Read More Answered By: Antonio Maldonado |
Re: Citizenship U.S. citizens are subject to loss of citizenship if they perform certain acts voluntarily and with the intention to relinquish U.S. citizenship. Briefly stated, these acts include: 1. obtaining naturalization in a foreign state; 2. taking an oath, affirmation or other formal declaration to a foreign state or its political subdivisions; 3. entering or serving in the armed forces of a foreign state engaged in hostilities against the U.S. or serving as a commissioned or non-commissioned officer in the armed forces of a foreign state; 4. accepting employment with a foreign government if a) one has the nationality of that foreign state or b) a declaration of allegiance is required in accepting the position; 5. formally renouncing U.S. citizenship before a U.S. consular officer outside the United States; 6. formally renouncing U.S. citizenship within the U.S. (but only "in time of war"); and, 7. conviction for an act of treason.
The acquisition of nationality and citizenship of a foreign country depends on that specific foreign country's laws. It is easy to acquire citizenship in some countries while extremely hard or impossible in others.
If you want to expatriate to Mexico we may be able to help you. If you want to expatriate to some other country you will have to contact an attorney from that specific country.
Good luck!
|
|
Read More Answered By: David Nachman |
Re: Citizenship Having represented persons who have done this, we would strongly recommend that you consult the U.S. Department of State Website (travel.state.gov) about "dual citizenship" first and then speak to a professional who will advise you about the implications of giving-up your U.S. Citizenship that go beyond what may "meet the eye". |
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 1043
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Chicago,
Questions Answered: 1036
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 560
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Fort Myers, FL
Questions Answered: 492
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-28
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Seattle,
Questions Answered: 296
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 255
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-09
Naperville, IL
Questions Answered: 239
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 223
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-12-06
► Husband wouldn't give a copy of H4. 3 years of Verbal abuse and communication em...
► Seperated with H4: How/where to get a copy of H4 ? I am in H4. My husband has the...
► Marrying an american citizen i was wanting to know ifi married my fiancee who is an...
► Llc and H type visa hi, i'm working in the us since 10/99 under a l1 visa. my wife...
► Illegal immigrant Can an illegal immigrant who has been in the US go back to the...
► Did not surrender all my I-94s I had an I-94 when I entered on company A's H1 b visa...
► F2 Question I came to the US on an F1 visa to get a Master's degree. After I got it,...
More Immigration Law questions and answers in Illinois| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press