Illinois  |  Legal Ethics

question bubble
6/06/09, 2:21 pm

Legal Question


no contact from attorney and settled in March 09

I settled a personal injury case the second week of March. Signed papers giving them power of attorney. My attorney said I should have my $$ she would thing by the end of April at the latest. I called a couple of times the third week of April to see how things were going as she said she would call as soon as she received the check. After 3 phone calls I was finally told she no longer works there. I could talk to someone else. Two more phone calls I talked to another partner there. Who came to the phone and said this to me, I am confunsed at why you are calling as your case is settled. My response was well where is my money! He then said he didn't have a check yet. So I told him what she said and he said he expected it any day. That was the 3rd week of April. It is June 6 and still have not heard from them. I have only called once. And no one could talk, or even call me back. I had called my insurance company who I have to pay medical back to and told them I should have the check soon. She called the attorney June 3 and was told to send them a letter on what she was wondering. Which she said she just asked when the check would be dispersed. What should I do.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search