Illinois | Tax Law
Legal Question
I currently own a job board website. I do not have a brick and mortar location. As a result, do I need to charge sales taxes to customers?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: David K. Staub |
In Illinois, the sales tax only applies to the sales of tangible personal property, not services.
Does your job board actually sell any tangible personal property or is it just a service? If you don't sell anything tangible, then in Illinois, you have no sales tax to collect or to remit to the state.
States are different. Some states do tax services. Then the question is are your services taxable in that particular state. That is a developing area of the law but in most cases if you have no physical presence in the state, such as an office or an employee, you would not have a sufficient connection to that state for them to impose a tax on you.
This a simplified answer. Your specific facts may indicate sufficient activity to subject you to taxation. You should talk to your tax attorney for a specific answer with regard to a specific state. |
Top Attorneys in IL
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Michelotti & Associates, Ltd.
Oak Brook, IL
Questions Answered: 1021
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-16
Law Offices of Motty Stone
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
Glick and Trostin, LLC
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 604
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-12
Sanford M. Martin, P.A.
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 582
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Robert H. Glorch
Palatine, IL
Questions Answered: 392
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Martin Law Office
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 376
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-06-10
The Tracy Firm, Ltd.
Naperville, IL
Questions Answered: 239
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
WILLIAM A. BRANDWEIN, A PROFESSIONAL LAW CORP.
Monterey, CA
Questions Answered: 190
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-01-26
Staub Anderson Green LLC
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 181
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
Search Questions and Answers


