Indiana  |  Insurance Law

question bubble
6/09/09, 11:54 am

Legal Question


Dentist charged when Insurance should cover

I went to the dentinst in February 09 for some jaw pain. I found the dentist on my preferred providers website and the dentist said I was covered. I went over a month later for a cleaning, which they again agreed that my insurance would cover me. I received a bill at the beginning of June saying that insurance would not pay and I owe the over $200 from both appointments. Is it legal for a dentist to tell a client that they are covered by their insurance and then charge them for all the work? Should the dentist office take the cut for the mistake? If so, how would I go about having them write off the charges and what can I do at this point?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search