Legal Question in Medical Malpractice in Indiana

I recently went to the dentist for a routine cleaning and I was told I would need to get a crown done. I suggested I just have the tooth pulled since it was the second to last molar and it would not be noticeable also it would be a heck of a lot cheaper and quick. The doctor and the hygienist both talked me into the crown since they said my insurance would cover most of it and it would solve the problem. After I had the prep work done for the crown and a temporary put on I experienced really bad pain so I went back to see what was going on. The dentist said that the crown procedure did not react well and now I would have to have a root canal (another 1k+). They told me getting the crown procedure done now would avoid a root canal in the future. My tooth at the time did not hurt at all but they said if I waited I would have to get a root canal at some point. So I went ahead and did the procedure and now its worse and I still have to get a root canal. On top of that I still have to pay for a procedure that did not work. Do I have any legal grounds here? I just feel someone should be held responsible for this. It seems a bit unfair since I put my well being in there hands and now things are worse. Please let me know what I should and can do. Thanks!

Asked on 10/02/13, 5:38 am

2 Answer from Attorneys

Jay Rigdon Rockhill Pinnick LLP
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Get a second opinion from another dentist first. Then go talk to a lawyer who handles medical malpractice .

Read more
10/06/13, 12:09 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Medical Malpractice Law questions and answers in Indiana

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88283 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now